Log in

Warren E. Schaller

Distinguished Service Award

Warren E. Schaller Distinguished Service Award

The Warren E. Schaller Distinguished Service Award is intended to be given to an InSOPHE member who has made outstanding contributions to the Chapter or the health education field. The award is intended to honor a truly deserving member and may not always be awarded annually.  The InSOPHE Board of Directors reserves the right to provide this award based on member nominations and other criterion. 

The nominee should meet all of the following criteria:

  • A current member of InSOPHE

  • Must be currently practicing health education in Indiana.

    • Health education is defined as someone who promotes, maintains, and improves individual and community health by assisting individuals and communities to adopt healthy behaviors. They collect and analyze data to identify community needs prior to planning, implementing, monitoring and evaluating programs designed to encourage healthy lifestyles, policies, and environments. May also serve as a resource to assist individuals, other professionals or the community, and may administer fiscal resources for health education programs.

  • Has made contributions to InSOPHE or the health education field by research, speaking engagements, publishing research, mentorship, service work and/or volunteer work, etc.

  •  Participated in at least one InSOPHE related event within the last 12 months.

  •  Serves as a positive role model in their professional role.

  • Demonstrates best practices within their professional role.

Nominations must be made by a current member of InSOPHE. Click here to download the nomination form.  Nominations must include two letters, one from the nominator and one from a supporting member (not the nominee). Self nominations are discouraged. 

Nominations must be received by:

June 30th of each year  (deadline) Nominations and approval will be announced at the fall business meeting. 

Nominee score:

0 – 6 - Letters did not show enough evidence to award the nominee.

6 + - Letters showed enough evidence to award the nominee.

Nominations and letters of supports should be sent to:

Board of Directors
Indiana Society for Public Health Education, Inc.
P. O. Box 44407
Indianapolis, IN 46244


Award Overview

Additional Resources

Past Award Recipients

    • 1988 - Beth Neilson
    • 1990- Kelly Bishop Alley
    • 1992- Jan Ranger
    • 2005- Brenda Chamness
    • 2009- Jim McKenzie
© Indiana Society for Public Health Education
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software